San Bernardino City Unified School District
San Bernardino City Unified School District
Home PageEmail PagePrint Page

Go To Search
California Alternate Performance Assessment(CAPA)
The development and implementation of an alternate assessment for children with severe cognitive disability.
In order to meet the requirements of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB), California must show evidence that all students are included in our statewide assessment and accountability system. The California Department of Education (CDE) is required to develop and implement an alternate assessment for children with disabilities who cannot take part in general statewide assessment programs. The California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) is the alternate assessment for the California Standards Tests.


CAPA Participation Criteria


California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) Participation Criteria assists Individualized Education Program teams in determining how a student should participate in the Standardized Testing & Reporting (STAR) Program.


Test site coordinators are responsible for having students’ Individualized Education Plans (IEPs) reviewed to determine if the students will take the California Standards Tests (CSTs) with no accommodations or modifications, take the CSTs with accommodations and/or modifications, take the California Modified Assessment (CMA), or take the CAPA. Since examiners may adapt the CAPA based on students’ instruction mode, accommodations and modifications do not apply to CAPA.


IEP teams determine how students with disabilities will participate in the STAR Program. If the IEP team determines that the student should be assessed with the CAPA, the IEP team is also responsible for determining if the student should take the grade-assigned CAPA level or CAPA Level I. This information is included on each student’s IEP. Students with grade-level designations on their IEPs must take either CAPA Level I or the CAPA level designated for their individual grade level.


CAPA Level

Grade Range




English/Language Arts, Math, Science


2 & 3

English/Language Arts, Math


4 & 5

English/Language Arts, Math, Science



English/Language Arts, Math, Science



English/Language Arts, Math, Science


Students who repeat grade eleven for multiple years continue to take CAPA Level I or Level V as their statewide assessment until enrolled in grade 12.



San Bernardino City Unified School District, 777 North F Street, San Bernardino, CA 92410, (909) 381-1100
Home     /       Calendar     /       Contact Us     /       Print Page     /       Email Page     /            /       Español     /       Accessibility     /       Site Map     /       Copyright Notices